About Us

Welcome to Institute Of Sri Lankan Photographers

About Us

Institute Was “Founded in 1994”

Inauguration On the dawn of June 14, 1994 an important event took place at the residence of Mr. Mervin Jayasinghe which transformed the profession of photography significantly. Twelve individuals who valued the photography as a profession put down their signatures vouching to take the profession of photography in Sri Lanka towards international standards.

Awesome Image
Awesome Image

Awesome Image

At this momentous occasion “Seth Pirith” was chanted and traditional “Kaum & Kiribath” was served. “Institute of Sri Lankan Photographers” was born with a motto – “TOWARDS PROFESSIONALISM IN PHOTOGRAPHY” creating history. The promoters of the institute were none other than M/S Mervin Jayasinghe, L. E. Samararatne, T. R. W. Weralupitiya, D. A. Balasuriya, Panduka de Silva, Wilfred Hemachandra, D. G. Somapala, Marius Perera, Bandu Gunaratne, Chandana Fernando, Ranjith N. Abeysinghe and Vajira Wickremage.

The formal beginning Vice Chancellor of the Colombo University, Late Professor Nandadasa Kodagoda delivered the keynote address on the occasion of Institute of Sri Lankan Photographers going public on July 23, 1994 at the Russian Cultural Centre. In keeping with the objectives of Institute of Sri Lankan Photographers, this occasion was followed by a seminar and the speakers who delivered valuable lectures were giants in their relative fields. Late Mr. Sumitta Amarasinghe spoke of “Photography Today”, followed by Mr. Edwin Ariyadasa on “Photography and the Media” while Mr. Sena Kotalawala dealt with “Photography as a science and an art”.

Institution announced to the distinguished assembly of photographers that the aspirations of Institute of Sri Lankan Photographers were to transform the photography as a recognised profession and it is accepted and respected by the society as well as the legislature.

Objectives of the institute were laid down, and the constitution encompassed every aspect of photography as a profession and the codes of ethics were included to guide the photographers.

The journey has begun to structure the Profession of photography in Sri Lanka to be on par, with any other profession.


Advance the photographic profession towards the professionalism.


Founder Members

Past Activities Since inauguration in 1994, institution conducted numerous, seminars, workshops, group discussions on various important topics and regular monthly members’ day meetings. Portrait Photography, Fashion Photography, Commercial Photography and Wedding Photography are to name a few.

Another pioneering venture Institute carried out was the residential workshops for photographers. These were held in Bandarawela, Nuwaraeliya, Kandy, Polonnaruwa, Bogawantalawa, Galle, Uda Walawe, Kurunegala, Yala, and Negambo. The locations were chosen to give the photographer the proper environment guidance, together with hands-on experience in the relative area of study. Even the annual get together of the members takes the form of a workshop or a seminar educating and enjoyment mixing together and promoting the friendship among photographers. At the annual workshop members are exposed to current developments, in photography.

World Press Photo Foundation entrusted ISLP with task of conducting their three-year workshop for Lankan Press photographers. Institute in keeping with their mission proved to the world giant in the field of Press Photography the capabilities of the institute with no uncertain terms. President of the Institute Mr. Panduka de Silva acted as the Liaison Director for the assignment.

Past Presidents

Current Council

Mr. Denzil Fernando – FISLP


Mr. Mithra S Weerakone – LISLP


Mrs. Nadeeka Jayasundara – LISLP

Assistant Secretary

Mr. Athula Jayasundara – LISLP,IPP


Mr. I.A.Seneviratne – LISLP

Vice President

Mr. Varuna Kariyakarawana – LISLP

Immediate Past President

Mr. Aruna Kirtisinghe – FISLP

Past Presidents

Mr. Ravindra Ranasinghe

Council Member

Mr. Pandula Bandara

Council Member

Mr. Prasada Goonaratne – LISLP, AFIAP

Council Member

Mr. Amal Karunatilaka

Council Member

Mr. Arosha Amarasekera

Council Member

Mr Sanka Sammana Perera – AISLP

Council Member

© 2024 By ISLP. All Rights Reserved.